Kentucky Chess Association

The USCF state affiliate for all of Kentucky.

Chess Talk

Forum Home > Chess Discussion > New to Chess

SarahHampton

Hi... I am new to Kentucky... I am looking for a place to play chess if I get any time available off of work... I live closer to Lexington but I am in Louisville most of the month... can anyone help me?
Sarah

February 12, 2013 at 4:51 PM Flag Quote & Reply

JerryBaker

Lexington Chess Club meets on Wednesday nights starting at 8pm.

Free to play.

Tates Creek Golf Course Meeting Room

1400 Gainesway Dr

Stop by or call for more information, Jerry Baker, 859.806.0637

--

Lexchess.com - Open chess tournament information

February 12, 2013 at 8:07 PM Flag Quote & Reply

SarahHampton

Thank you... I will try to make it sometime soon... Is Lexington the only place with chess or does Louisville have chess? I can see that Louisville has a lot of chess events for children... but I do not have children.

February 12, 2013 at 10:16 PM Flag Quote & Reply

Ken McDonald

Louisville has G30 chess every Monday and Thursday night.  Check the Tournament Calendar for time and location.

February 13, 2013 at 12:11 AM Flag Quote & Reply

JerryBaker

Louisville has chess. They just aren't very good at playing it. :D

--

Lexchess.com - Open chess tournament information

February 13, 2013 at 9:53 AM Flag Quote & Reply

Stephen Dillard

Sarah,  I am Steve Dillard.  I direct the Monday and Thursday tournaments   Look forward to you stopping by.   Ignoring Lexchess comment.  Did not even see it.  There is a rumor that Texas wants to annex Fayette County. 

February 14, 2013 at 8:03 PM Flag Quote & Reply

SarahHampton

I will try to go soon Steve... do I just show up and play? I get the sense that Lexington and Louisville like to play against each other and that Lexington is better... according to Jerry Baker.
Sarah

February 14, 2013 at 8:48 PM Flag Quote & Reply

fwalls